The Prairies

The vast flat land east of the Rocky Mountains is called the Prairies. The Prairie Provinces consist of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba. These provinces are home to some unique animals and birds featured in this A–Z Wildlife Series, book two. Some examples are the Bison, the Great Grey Owl, and the many burrowing animals, such as the Prairie Dog and Swift Fox.

The Prairies are the least forested area, in comparison to some other parts of the country. It has flat wide-open fields, making this perfect for agriculture, and ideal habitat for the Whooping Crane. In comparison, Southeastern Alberta features stone formations and has a desert-like landscape, where the Prairie Rattlesnake lives.