The Northern Territories and The Arctic

The A–Z Wildlife Series, book five, covers the Canadian North, referred to as the Northern Territories and the Arctic. This expansive land mass and its many islands, both large and small, is situated on the Arctic Ocean where you will find the Beluga Whale, the Narwhal, and the elusive Greenland Shark. Nunavut, the Yukon, and the Northwest Territories make up the three Northern Territories.

The Yukon is the most forested of the three, but all three territories contain areas with sparse vegetation and rocky terrain. Here you will find animals unique to this largely barren, dry, and mostly uninhabited region such as the Arctic Fox, the Muskox, and the national bird of Nunavut, the Ptarmigan.